

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics

Corner

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

GARY KEPHART, CHP CIH ILLINOIS POWER COMPANY BOX 678 ATTN: V-374C **CLINTON IL 61727**

work:

217-935-8881 x3888

fax:

800-377-1717

email: Gary Kephart@illinova.com

1997 ABHP CERTIFICATION EXAM RESULTS **CONGRATULATIONS!**

The results of the 1997 ABHP Certification Exam are as follows: 102 out of 216 candidates passed Part I and 42 out of 143 candidates passed Part II of the exam. In addition, two candidates who had previously passed Part II of the exam passed Part I of the exam.

The following individuals have successfully completed the ABHP Certification Exam and are eligible for certification:

Ahmed, Abu B. Archer, Joseph G. Austin, Sean M. Baker, Samuel I. Bennion, John S. Boyle, Patrick J. Brady, Donald P. Brey, Richard R. Carr, Michael A. Caywood, Karen L. Ceffalo, Grant M. Coleman, Robert L. Costigan, Stephen A. DeVol, Timothy A. Geyer, Andrea J. Gough, John Grev. Michael G. Hamilton, Ian Scott Hampshire, G. John Hsueh, Po-Wen Jamison, Walter H. Jones, David M.

Kamboj, Sunita Kaurin, Darryl G.L. Keck, Bradley D. Lorne, Michael E. Mays, Trenton L. McBaugh, Debra Miles, Christopher Miller, John J. Myers, Steven C. Olsen, Peter C. Pillsbury, George D. Potter, Charles A. Serfas, Charles B. Simonsen, Rodney J. Slotemaker, Calvin J. Slowey, Thomas E. Sullivan, Randolph L. Sun, Lin-Shen C. Thomas, Stuart J. Tompkins, Joseph A. Vergamini, Terrance M. Wahl, Linnea E.

The following individuals successfully completed Part I of the 1997 ABHP Exam:

Abdollahzadeh, Sassan Algutifan, Elizabeth K. Anthony, Allen W. Archer, Larry D. Ausbrooks, Kelly L. Bass, Andrew L. Bernard, John A. Bhat, Ramachandra Booth, Mary B. Boston, Robert D. Bouchet, Lionel G. Brightwell, Michael S. Buddemeier, Brooke R. Burda, Pamela Ann Calvo, Sebastian Carter, John R. Clement, Richard Close, David W. Colleli, James R. Costello, Cynthia A. DeCaire, Richard A. Donahue, Christine Dupaquier, James C. Elmer, Diane M. Fong, Show-Hwa L. Foster, Kathleen A. Foust, David J. Frick, Ronald W. Funk, Stephan M. Gilliam, Bob J. Guerra, Jr., Gilbert L. Guinn, Charles D. Guo, Shuntong Harris, Jr., William S. Hekkala, Darin R. Hite, Robert E. Hoffman, Daniel E. Huneycutt, Scott E. Jarvis, James S. Jean-Francois, Stephane Jo, Myung-Chul Johnson, Richard G. Jones, Robert A. Kipler-Koch, Debra A. Komp, Gregory R. Konzen, Kevin K. Laiche, Thomas P. Le, Quang Minh

Long, Ronald E. Madden, Clay R. McCroskey, Debra A. McDonald, Michael P. McKay, Jr., Robert B. Miller, Bruce E. Miller, David J. Miner, Andrew E. Moroney, William R. Naquin, Tyrone D. O'Neil, Thomas A. Ong, Augustinus Palatine, Richard L. Passig, Michael S. Peterson, Vern M. Peterson, Julie A. Phillips, Christopher I. Pierson, Richard M. Poppiti, James A. Purdy, Gary W. Radev, Radoslav P. Rathbone, Bruce A. Rimawi, Karim A. Sackett, Gregory D. Samson, Daniel J. Schlenker, Gerald L. Schuman, Vincent L. Slaten, Betty M. Smith, Jeffrey C. Smith, Lynn Marie Sowell, Charlotte Stemen, Tammy J. Stewart, Donald Neil Strydom, Johannes C. Suiter, William C. Sundsmo, V.A. Michele Sutcliffe, Paul T. Szrom, Frances Theis, Mark Thomas Tourneur, Francis Troan, James W. Wagner, Thomas H. Walsh, Mark F. Weldy, James R. Wells, Douglas P. West, William G. Worley, Phillip D.

Wormuth, James R.

Also Deserving Credit

The ABHP and the AAHP appreciate the help of the CHPs who have served on the panels of examiners and have donated many hours of their time to develop and grade the examinations. Without their help, the examinations could not have taken place. The members of the panels of examiners were listed in the CHP News insert to the December 1997 Newsletter.

The help of the CHPs who proctored the 1997 exam is also very much appreciated. Their names were listed in the October 1997 "CHP Corner." Also, we wish to thank Scott Medling, the AAHP Webmaster, for posting the 1997 exam results on the Internet. This year, for the first time, candidates were able to use their candidate numbers to check their individual outcomes via the Internet.

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS WILLIAM B. McADAMS AWARD

Who has made a significant contribution in your HP life by advancing professionalism and the certification process?

Nominations are open until 31 March for the William B. McAdams Award. The honorary award is made amually by the ABHP and the AAHP. This award is open to Certified Health Physicists who have served the community through their outstanding and extended work on the ABHP examination panels, Board, AAHP Continuing Education Committee, AAHP Executive Committee, other AAHP committees, teaching or other assistance in increasing knowledge of HPs, or other areas that enhance the professionalism of Health Physics. All CHPs, whether currently active or not, are eligible, and posthumous awards are permitted. All AAHP members are encouraged to submit nominations.

Please send your nomination to:

NANCY KIRNER 6108 NAHANE WEST NE TACOMA WA 98422-4225

Phone: 253-927-3663 Email: NancyK55@aol.com Nominations should be brief but should explain why the candidate should receive the award. Past recipients are:

1997 Robert M. Ryan

1996 Frazier Bronson

1995 Wm. R. "Bob" Casey

1994 Lee Booth

1993 Kenneth W. Skrable

1992 Lester A. Slaback

1991 Richard R. Bowers

1990 H. Wade Patterson

1989 John W. Healy (inaugural award)

Additional perspective can be gained by reviewing the full citation for the 1997 recipient, Robert Ryan, as published in the December issue of *Health Physics*.

The CHP Lapel Pin: Are You Wearing Yours?

This handsome jewelry item is a visible symbol of your accomplishment and professional standing. However, perhaps yours was attacked by a seatbelt while impersonating a tie clasp, or inadvertently subjected to the vagaries of the dry cleaners.

Don't despair. It is not necessary to retake the exam to get it replaced. Additional pins are available from the AAHP Secretariat for \$5.

Corrections, Attributions, and Alterations

The review of computer-based examination initiatives of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals in the November 1997 "CHP Corner" may have implied that the editor first floated these ideas to the Academy leadership. Review of past meeting minutes clearly shows that Paul Ziemer of Purdue had previously advanced these technologies to the Academy leadership as important to the future of both the exam and the application processes.

The Academy membership is again reminded that the AOL accounts previously used by the Secretariat have been replaced. The current address is:

AAHP@BurkInc.com

It is not case sensitive.