

American Academy of Health Physics
American Board of Health Physics

Corner

Nancy M. Daugherty

Address contributions for "CHP Corner" or CHP News to: NANCY M DAUGHERTY CHP EDITOR CHP NEWS

511 N BERMONT LAFAYETTE CO 80026

Home: 303-673-0283 Work: 303-692-3050

fax: 303-759-5355 email: nancy.daugherty@state.co.us

## Congratulations to New CHPs

Jerome B. Martin, CHP President, AAHP, 1997

On behalf of the American Academy of Health Physics, I want to congratulate each and every one of the 134 new CHPs who have recently completed the requirements for certification by the American Board of Health Physics. The certification process is challenging, and you can be proud of your accomplishment. You may now identify yourself as a Certified Health Physicist (CHP) or a Diplomate of the American Board of Health Physics (DABHP). You automatically become a member of the AAHP upon paying annual dues, and I encourage you to participate in the activities of the Academy.

Congratulations are also due to the 87 candidates who passed one part of the ABHP exam and are one step closer to certification. You are eligible for Associate membership in the AAHP, which entitles you to participate in all functions of the Academy. Annual dues for Associate Members are only \$10. I encourage you to join the AAHP as an Associate Member as you continue to prepare for and complete the requirements for certification by the ABHP.

There will be a reception for Academy members at the HPS meeting in San Antonio to recognize all new CHPs. Plan now to attend!

All HPs can keep informed about Academy activities by reading the CHP News, co-distributed with the June and December issues of the HPS Newsletter, and the "CHP Corner," published in other issues of the Newsletter. You can also visit the AAHP Home Page at

http://phantom.ehs.uiuc.edu/~AAHP/ on the Internet.

## Call For Nominations: William A. McAdams Award

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award is made annually by the ABHP and the AAHP to honor a Certified Health Physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. Nominees shall be CHPs who have served the health physics community through outstanding and extended work on the AAHP or ABHP, through teaching, or in other areas that enhance the professionalism of health physics. All CHPs, whether currently active or not, are eligible, and posthumous awards are permitted.

All AAHP members are encouraged to submit nominations. Present your nominations in a letter to the Awards Committee chairperson for 1997, George Vargo, ABHP Vice Chair '97, discussing the rationale for your nomination and providing background information on your nominee. Other Committee members will include Roger C. Brown (ABHP Chair, '97) and Kenneth R. Kase (AAHP Past President, '97). Nominations should be sent to the McAdams Award Committee Chairperson by 1 March 1997 to be considered for the 1997 award. Address your nomination letter to:

GEORGE J VARGO JR CHP PO BOX 338 RICHLAND WA 99352

509-375-6836 W 509-375-2019 fax gj vargo@pnl.gov

## THE PLAQUE'S IN THE MAIL!

Certification plaques and CHP lapel pins were mailed to new CHPs in late January.

...AND EXAM ACCEPTANCE LETTERS ARE GOING OUT SOON.

Acceptance letters to 1997 ABHP Exam candidates will be mailed in late March.

Contact Nancy Johnson, AAHP Program Director, AAHP Secretariat, 703-790-1745, ahpburkmgt@aol.com, if you have questions.

Also contact Nancy if you are interested in participating on any of the AAHP committees, but did not indicate this interest on your Academy dues envelope.