CHP CORNER



AMERICAN ACADEMY OF HEALTH PHYSICS

Address contributions to: Editor - Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Associate Editor - Michael J. Zittle, MHP, CHP Email: mzittle@uw.edu

Email: harold.anagnostopoulos@nrc.gov

REPORT OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Nora Nicholson & John Hageman

Thank you to all the outgoing members of the Nominating Committee:

- Jim Bogard
- Morgan Cox •
- Kathleen Dinnel-Jones •
- Cheryl Olson, and
- Bill Rhodes

The current and incoming members are:

- Nora Nicholson (past-Chair)
- John Hageman (incoming-Chair) •
- Steven Dewey •
- Tony Mason •
- Elizabeth Algutifan
- Ed Bailey
- Willie Harris •
- Myra Long •
- Tim Taulbee, and the •
- ABHP Vice-Chair (TBD)

The Nominating Committee members solicited nominees from the AAHP membership for the offices of President Elect, Treasurer, and Director. A slate of potential candidates was assembled, and in accordance with AAHP Standard Operating Procedure 2.5.1, the committee ranked the nominees and selected the highest ranking candidates. The outcome of this process is as follows:

| President Elect | <u>Treasurer</u> | Director |
|-----------------|------------------|--------------|
| Alex Boerner | Steven Frey | Liz Brackett |
| Jay Tarzia | Pat LaFrate | Bob May |

The Nominating Committee is pleased to present these candidates for the election of the 2018 AAHP officers. Each of these candidates has indicated their willingness to serve if elected. Resumes of the candidates, including Statements of Goals for the President-Elect candidates, will be prepared and supplied to the Program Director for inclusion with the academy ballots.

Upcoming activities of the Nominating Committee include forming an ad-hoc committee to recommend an AAHP representative for the ABMP. Also, the Nominating Committee will be requesting input from the ABHP on their recommendations for potential candidate replacements for ABHP Board members. The committee will also solicit nominees from the ABMP, ABIH, CRCPD and other interested organizations. One replacement board member is needed to begin a term in 2019. The Nominating Committee will ballot the nominees, and provide candidates to the Executive Committee prior to its meeting in Cleveland, Ohio in July 2018.

The Nominating Committee is also working with the Chair, Professional Standards and Ethics Committee to identify potential nominees for the **Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award**. Nominations are due to the Nominating Committee by 16 February 2018. The Committee will provide any recommendations to the Professional Standards and Ethics Committee Chair by 01 March 2018.

THE FUNCTIONS OF THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS AND ETHICS COMMITTEE

John Keklak, Chair

The primary function of the Professional Standards and Ethics Committee is to review any allegation that a CHP has not adhered to the standards of behavior expected of CHPs. These standards can be found in Item 11 of the AAHP bylaws, and all CHPs should be familiar with them.

It is a credit to our membership that only rarely in its history has the committee actually been called upon to perform this function. Consequently, most of the routine work of the committee consists of regular review and maintenance of the standard operating procedures that have been established for handling any complaints related to ethical practice.

The other important function of the committee is to review nominees for the **Joyce P. Davis Award** and select the winner (subject to final approval by the AAHP Awards Committee). To quote from the AAHP webpage,

"The recipient of this award demonstrates (the) extraordinary qualities exemplified by Joyce *P. Davis, distinguishing themselves for excellence in professional achievement as well as being admired for ethical behavior and interpersonal skills.*"

CHPs are encouraged to nominate deserving individuals for this award.

The current members of the Professional Standards and Ethics Committee are:

- Bryce Rich
- Dan Burnfield
- Todd Davidson
- Tom Morgan