CHP Corner



AMERICAN ACADEMY OF HEALTH PHYSICS email

email: AAHP@burkinc.com

1313 Dolley Madison Blvd. ■ Suite 402 ■ McLean, VA 22101 ■ 703-790-1745 ■ FAX: 703-790-2672

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP

Email: <u>klink17@tds.net</u> Email: <u>harold.anagnostopoulos@nrc.gov</u>

Announcing the 2015 William A. McAdams Award

Andy Miller, ABHP Vice Chair

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award was awarded to Nora Nicholson at the 60th Health Physics Society (HPS) Annual Meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana, 12–16 July 2015.

The award was established in 1989 and is presented annually by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) to honor a certified health physicist (CHP) who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process.



Nora Nicholson

In conferring the award, the committee noted that Nora has served the ABHP with diligence and distinction. Nora served as a Part 1 panel member from 1993

to 1997, a Part 2 panel member from 1997 to 2001 and 2003 to 2004, an ABHP board member from 2006 to 2008, secretary in 2009, vice chair in 2010, again as a board member in 2013, and most recently as chair in 2014. Her leadership has served the ABHP and the applicants well during her tenure and is fully deserving of recognition and applause. Please join us in looking forward to a full citation of the McAdams Award in December's *Health Physics* Journal.

It's Been a Good Run

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP News Editor

This issue is the 120th "CHP Corner" published while I have been editor, and there have been 24 issues of the *CHP News* published during this time. After 12 years as the editor, I've decided to turn over this responsibility to my associate editor, Harry Anagnostopoulos. I took over from Steve Rima with the September 2003 "CHP Corner," after serving two years as the associate editor. I would like to thank Harry, who has been serving as my associate editor for many years, as well as the numerous American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) officers, AAHP committee chairs, American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) chairs and vice chairs, and ABHP Part 1 and Part 2 chairs who have graciously provided me articles during my tenure. Special thanks also to Gary Lauten for providing CHP salary surveys and, most important of all, to Nancy Johnson for all of her help.

Any CHPs who are interested in being considered for the *CHP News* associate editor position should contact Harry at Harold.Anagnostopoulos@NRC.gov.

Professional Development Committee Activities

Janet Johnson, Chair

The purpose of the Professional Development Committee (PDC) is to promote certification and recertification by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) specifically through:

- Enhancing professional standards for ABHP certification.
- Evaluating professional standards for recertification.
- Assisting diplomats in improving their knowledge.
- Publicizing the benefits of certification to health physicists.
- Fostering recognition of the importance of ABHP certification.

The PDC created a brochure and a fact sheet to provide information to health physicists, explaining the process of certification and its benefits. The PDC oversees the ABHP booth at the Health Physics Society (HPS) annual meeting. The booth was "refreshed" for the Indianapolis meeting with new



and exciting photographs of certified health physicists (CHPs) at work and posting of the statistics for the 2013 and 2014 exams. The statistics will be updated annually and displayed at future HPS annual meetings.

The PDC did not meet at the HPS midyear meeting. The PDC met at the HPS annual meeting in July to discuss how to achieve the aims of the committee. Specific topics considered included the brochure and how the ABHP booth can be used to further encourage health physicists to become certified and maintain that important credential throughout their professional lives. These and other topics have been discussed over the past six months by email.

The PDC would like to create a "bank" of photographs of CHPs in action that can be used for the booth so that it does not become "stale." Photographs can be sent to janetj@sopris.net with the names of the individuals pictured and their permission to use the photo.

Current members of the PDC are Jan Johnson (chair), Maya Keller, Tom Johnson, Richard Granberg, and Balwan Hooda.



James Willison

AAHP National Service Award—2015

Harry Anagnostopoulos, Editor

Please join me in congratulating James S. Willison on receiving the American Academy of Health Physics National Service Award at this year's annual meeting. This honor is bestowed in recognition of exceptional service to the Academy during the immediate past president's term of office. Well done!

Call for AAHP Nominations

Earl Fordham, Nominating Committee Chair

The American Academy of Health Physics Nominating Committee (AAHP) is seeking candidates to run for Academy office on the 2016 ballot. Successful candidates will take office at the 2017 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting. We need nominees for the offices of president-elect, treasurer, and director. Nominees must be:

- Current plenary members of the Academy (either active or emeritus).
- Not serving an appointment to either the Part I or Part II Exam Panels or as a member of the American Board of Health Physics at the time that they take office.

The president-elect serves one year, followed by a year as president and third year as past president. The president-elect is responsible for filling positions on the Academy committees, attending the meetings of the Academy and, as president, presiding over the meetings of the Academy. The Executive Committee meets twice per year at the HPS annual and midyear meetings. The treasurer serves a term of two years, followed by one year as past treasurer. The treasurer is responsible for budget development and the proper accounting of all assets of the Academy. The directors serve terms of three years. The directors attend the meetings of the Academy Executive Committee and perform duties as requested by the president.

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee by phone or email (listed below) to volunteer or to nominate someone else.

Nominating Committee Members

Name	Email	Phone
Earl Fordham, chair	earl.fordham@gmail.com	509-628-7628
David Kent	david.kent@lataky.com	270-441-5404
Morgan Cox	morgancx@swcp.com	216-464-7716
Kathy Dinnel-Jones	kddinnel@ix.netcom.com	925-484-3379
Jim Bogard	bogardjs@comcast.net	865-806-8069
Robert Morris	Robert Morris@mhchew.com	303-424-0007
Andy Miller	Miller1099@hotmail.com	615-557-8178