

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Website: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for *CHP News* and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Associate Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP

Work: 865-241-1024 Work: 702-295-3489

Email: klink17@tds.net Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

## **Professional Development Committee**

Mike Davidson, CHP, Chair

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Professional Development Committee (PDC) is responsible for expanding and enhancing the professionalism and benefits of certification and encouraging and assisting in the recognition and acceptance of certification by others. The committee accomplishes this by taking suggestions from fellow CHPs, brainstorming on activities to promote certification, and following leads provided by the AAHP Executive Committee based upon AAHP input at large. Improving recognition is achieved by increasing awareness of American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) certification—and its value—with allied professional societies, employers of health physicists, academic institutions, and the general public. Another responsibility of the PDC is to prepare and review Standards of Qualifications/Practice for radiation safety professionals.

The PDC hosted the AAHP/ABHP display booth at the annual meeting of the Health Physics Society in Sacramento this past July. Certification was promoted again at the popular 7<sup>th</sup> Annual Radioactive Open Mic Night.

Active members of the PDC are Claude Wiblin and Carl Paperiello. Exiting the committee in 2012 are Tom Johnson, Wei-Hsung Wang, and Andy Karam, all of whom we thank for their service. Gary Lauten is our ad hoc American Association of Physicists in Medicine liaison and conducts the AAHP Salary Survey. If you are interested in becoming involved with this committee through active participation or have suggestions for committee initiatives, including those discussed here, please contact Mike Davidson (<a href="mike.davidson@tideh2o.net">mike.davidson@tideh2o.net</a>). Until then, tell your colleagues how great it feels to "be certified"!

## Call for AAHP Nominations

Steven King, CHP, Nominating Committee Chair

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Nominating Committee is looking for candidates to run for Academy office on the 2013 ballot. Successful candidates will take office at the 2014 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting. We need nominees for the offices of president-elect, secretary, and director.

Health Physics Society 37 Return to Table of Contents

Nominees must be:

- Current plenary members of the Academy (either active or emeritus).
- Not serving an appointment to either the Part I or Part II Exam Panels or as a member of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) at the time that they take office.

The president-elect serves one year, followed by a year as president and a third year as past president. The president-elect is responsible for filling positions on the Academy committees, attending the meetings of the AAHP Executive Committee, and (as president) presiding over the meetings of the Academy.

The secretary serves a term of two years, followed by one year as past secretary. The secretary is responsible for the minutes of the Academy meetings and maintaining the official records of the Academy. The past secretary serves as a member of the Finance Committee.

The directors serve terms of three years. The directors attend the meetings of the Academy Executive Committee and perform duties as requested by the president. The Executive Committee meets twice per year at the HPS annual and midyear meetings.

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee by phone or email to volunteer or to nominate someone. The committee members are Morgan Cox, Christine Donahue, Kurt Geber, Gary Kephart, Govind Rao, Glenn Sturchio, and Bruce Zibung.

Contact information for committee members can be found in the HPS website's <u>membership</u> <u>directory</u> or at the <u>AAHP website</u>. You may also contact the chair directly at <u>sking@psu.edu</u>.

## Announcing the 2012 William A. McAdams Award

Govind R. Rao, CHP, Vice-Chair ABHP

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award was presented to Robert N. Cherry at the 57<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society in Sacramento, California, 22–26 July 2012.

The award was established in 1989 and is presented annually by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and American Academy of Health Physics to honor a certified health physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process.

In conferring the award, the committee noted Bob's long-standing service to the ABHP, ranging from being a Panel II member to providing expert guidance as a "wise person" reviewer. A stickler for details, his meticulous approach in dissecting an exam and his in-depth reviews have transformed many an exam into a high-quality professional product consistent with the standards set by the ABHP.

For his many years of sustained and dedicated service to the ABHP and the health physics community at large, Bob is fully deserving of recognition and applause. With this award, Bob joins an elite group of 23 previous recipients.

Please join us in looking forward to a full citation of the McAdams Award in December's *Health Physics* Journal.

Health Physics Society 38 Return to Table of Contents