

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Website: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-241-1024 Email: klink17@tds.net Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 702-295-3489 Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

Professional Development Committee

Mike Davidson, Chair

Just in case you were wondering—the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Professional Development Committee (PDC) is responsible to "expand and enhance the professionalism and benefits of Certification and encourage and assist in the recognition and acceptance of Certification by others." The committee accomplishes this by taking suggestions from fellow certified health physicists (CHPs), brainstorming on activities to promote certification, and following leads provided by the AAHP Executive Committee based upon AAHP input at large. Improving recognition is achieved by increasing awareness of American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) certification—and its value—with allied professional societies, employers of health physicists, academic institutions, and the general public.

Another responsibility of the PDC is to prepare and review Standards of Qualification/Practice (SQ/P) for radiation safety professionals. The two existing SQ/Ps are for university radiation safety officers and health care facility radiation safety officers. With respect to the "aging nuclear workforce," the PDC is discussing whether AAHP/ Health Physics Society (HPS) should consider development of a Nuclear Power Radiation Protection Manager Standard for Qualification/Practice (SQ/P). Please provide your thoughts on this to the PDC chair! The PDC has continued work on its draft brochure "Why Become a CHP." There are mixed opinions on whether this should take on a very technical and scientific approach or whether it should take a more informal, warm, and friendly approach to make the process seem "less intimidating" to potential candidates. The intent of the brochure is to promote certification at HPS meetings, meetings of local chapters and other professional societies, job fairs, and academic institutions with health physics curricula. The PDC would like to hear your thoughts on how best to market the benefits of certification, too.

Promoting and encouraging certification within the membership of the HPS is done in part by hosting the ABHP display booth at meetings of the HPS. The PDC readily enlists volunteers to host, so CHPs please come by at the HPS meetings and sign up for some booth duty!

Active members of the PDC are Cindy Bloom, Jeff Vollmer, Tom Johnson, Wei-Hsung Wang, Claude Wiblin, and Andy Karam. If you are interested in becoming involved with this committee through active participation or have suggestions for committee initiatives, including those discussed here, please contact Mike Davidson (mike.davidson@tideh2o.net). In the meantime, tell your colleagues how great it feels to "be certified!"

2011 William A. McAdams Award

Govind R. Rao, ABHP Vice Chair

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award was presented to Jerry W. Hiatt at the 56th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society (HPS) in West Palm Beach, Florida, 26-30 June 2011.

The award was established in 1989 and is presented annually by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) to honor a certified health physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process.

Certified in 1984, Jerry was one of the early contributors to the ABHP when he served on the initial Part I Exam Panel from 1988 to 1992. He became the vice chair in 1989 and the chair in 1990. During this period, he spearheaded the assembly and maintenance of the first word-processed exam bank, which has become a valuable tool in exam preparation. Jerry also played a pivotal role in developing and administering the very first "Passing Point" workshop and in leading two subsequent workshops. Jerry served on the Part II Exam panel from 1995 to 1999. In 2004, he was elected to the ABHP as Board member and served until 2008. His high standards, professionalism, and knowledge were deeply appreciated by his colleagues on the Board.

Jerry's volunteer activities have not been restricted to the ABHP. He has also contributed to the RP2020 Task Force and the Nuclear Uniform Curriculum Program of the Nuclear Energy Institute. He has contributed to ANSI N42.33 "American National Standard for Portable Radiation Detection Instrumentation for Homeland Security," and ANSI N42.37 "Training Requirements for Homeland Security Purposes Using Radiation Detection Instrumentation for Interdiction and Prevention." He is currently on the review and rewrite committee for ANSI 3.1 "Selection, Qualification, and Training of Personnel for Nuclear Power Plants." He also served on the Board of Directors of the Power Reactor Section of the Health Physics Society. He is a member of Linn State Technical Institute, Aiken Technical College, and Indian River State College Advisory Boards. He has been a plenary member of the HPS since 1977.

With this award, Jerry joins an elite group of 22 previous recipients.

Call for AAHP Nominations

Earl Fordham, Nominating Committee Chair

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Nominating Committee is looking for candidates to run for Academy office on the 2012 ballot. Successful candidates will take office at the 2013 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting. We need nominees for the offices of president-elect, treasurer, and director. Nominees must be:

- Current plenary members of the Academy (either active or emeritus).
- Not serving an appointment to either the Part I or Part II Exam Panels or as a member of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) at the time that they take office.

The president-elect serves one year, followed by a year as president and a third year as past president. The president-elect is responsible for filling positions on the Academy committees, attending the meetings of the ABHP and, as president, presiding over the meetings of the Academy. The Executive Committee meets twice per year at the HPS annual and midyear meetings. The treasurer serves a term of two years, followed by one year as past treasurer. The treasurer is responsible for the proper accounting of all of the Academy assets and the proper administration of the Academy's funds in accordance with an approved budget. The directors serve terms of three years. The directors attend the meetings of the Academy Executive Committee and perform duties as requested by the president.

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee by phone or email to volunteer or to nominate someone else. The committee members are Morgan Cox, Kurt Geber, Gary Kephart, Steve King, Kyle Kleinhans, Bruce Zibung, Glenn Sturchio, and Cheryl Olson. Contact information for committee members can be found in the HPS website's membership directory or at the AAHP website. You may also contact the chair directly at Earl.Fordham@gmail.com.



Kyle R. Kleinhans (right) receives the 2011 AAHP National Service Award from Paul Stansbury—the award is presented in recognition of exceptional service to the Academy during the immediate past president's term of office.



Jerry W. Hiatt (right) receives the 2011 William McAdams Outstanding Service Award from Kent Lambert—the award is presented annually to individuals who have made long-term and significant contributions to the certification process and have elevated professionalism in health physics.