



Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-241-1024

Email: klink17@tds.net

Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 702-295-3489

Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

Professional Development Committee

Mike Davidson, CHP, Chair

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) ▲ Professional Development Committee (PDC) is responsible to "expand and enhance the professionalism and benefits of certification and encourage and assist in the recognition and acceptance of certification by others." The committee exercises its responsibility by listening to suggestions of fellow CHPs, brainstorming on activities to promote certification, and following leads provided by the AAHP Executive Committee based upon AAHP input at large. Improving recognition is achieved by increasing awareness of American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) certification—and its value—with allied professional societies, employers of health physicists, academic institutions, and the general public. The PDC also prepares and reviews Standards of Qualifications/ Practice (SQ/P) for AAHP candidates, diplomates (CHPs), and other radiation safety professionals.

The PDC has finalized the SQ/P for health care radiation safety officers (RSO) that employers can use to set minimum qualifications for RSO applicants. This involved coordination with the American Academy of Physicists in Medicine and the Society of Nuclear Medicine to ensure that qualification standards among allied organizations are compatible. Kevin Buckley, Cindy Bloom, and Jay Maisler were instrumental in finalizing this SQ/P.

The PDC has completed its draft brochure "Why Become a CHP" and submitted it to the AAHP Executive Committee for final approval and distribution. The brochure will help promote certification at Health Physics Society (HPS) meetings, meetings of allied professional societies, job fairs, and academic institutions with health physics curricula.

At the direction of the AAHP Executive Committee,

the PDC will assume organizational responsibility for the HPS/AAHP salary survey. Gary Lautenschlager volunteers his time to elicit and tabulate survey data, with the assistance of Chris Graham and Andy King in the HPS. Gary and company deserve to have the full support of the AAHP and the assistance of the PDC in providing this valuable service. Gary will be added as an ad-hoc PDC member so that related responsibilities might be shared by the PDC and integrated into PDC procedures.

The PDC hosts the ABHP display booth at meetings of the HPS to promote and encourage certification within the membership of the HPS. The PDC is currently working on some changes to the booth. These include the addition of photographs of CHPs at work (no it's not a rare snapshot!) and a prize-stake challenge for the best sample ABHP Part II Exam question response submitted at the annual meeting. The PDC readily enlists volunteers to host the booth. Come by at the next meeting and sign up for your moment of fame and work a Part II problem while you're there!

Active PDC members are Cindy Bloom, Tom Johnson, Andy Karam, Wei-Hsung Wang, Claude Wiblin, and Jeffrey Vollmer, who also serves as the PDC liaison to the AAPM. Mike Davidson is the incoming chair, following Jay Maisler, who has moved on to become an elected director on the AAHP Executive Committee. We owe our gratitude to Jay for leading the PDC and congratulate him on his directorship! If you are interested in becoming involved with this committee through active participation or have suggestions for committee initiatives, please contact Mike Davidson (mike.davidson@tideh2o.net).

William A. McAdams Award

Nora Nicholson, CHP, ABHP Vice Chair

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award is given annually by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) to honor a certified health physicist who has made significant contributions to the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. This year's distinguished honoree is Nancy Kirner, CHP, in recognition of her substantial achievements and contributions. Nancy has been a member of the ABHP Panel of Examiners and served as chair of the Part II Panel of Examiners for the comprehensive examination in 1988. She also went on to serve in all offices of the ABHP: parliamentarian, secretary, vice chair, and finally chair in 1999. Nancy

has also held offices in the AAHP, including treasurer (1989-1990), president-elect (2007), president (2008), and past president (2009).

Nancy is active also with the Columbia Chapter of the Health Physics Society. She worked for the state of Washington for 12 years, developing skills as an Agreement State regulator and a low-level-waste specialist. Nancy then joined a large consulting firm, working with a variety of health physics projects for nine years. She founded her own business, Kirner Consulting, Inc., in 1996, which she continues to lead today. The full award citation will be printed in an upcoming issue of *Health Physics* Journal.

Call for AAHP Nominations

Earl Fordham, CHP, Chair, Nominating Committee

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Nominating Committee is looking for candidates to run for Academy office on the 2011 ballot. Successful candidates will take office at the 2011 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting, 6-9 February, in Charleston, South Carolina. We need nominees for the offices of president-elect, secretary, and director. Nominees must be:

- Current plenary members of the Academy (either active or emeritus).
- Not serving an appointment to either the Part I or Part II Exam Panels or as a member of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) at the time that they take office.

The president-elect serves one year, followed by a year as president and third year as past president. The president-elect is responsible for filling positions on the Academy committees, attending the meetings of the ABHP, and as president, presiding over the meetings of the Academy. The Executive Committee meets

twice per year at the HPS annual and midyear meetings. The secretary serves a term of two years, followed by one year as past secretary. The secretary is responsible for recording the minutes of the Academy Executive Committee and business meetings and running the election for officers. The directors serve terms of three years. The directors attend the meetings of the Academy Executive Committee and perform duties as requested by the president.

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee by phone or email to volunteer or to nominate someone else. The Nominating Committee members are Morgan Cox, John Hageman, Steve King, Kyle Kleinhans, Bruce Zibung, Glenn Sturchio, and Nora Nicholson. Contact information for the committee members can be found in the HPS Web site's membership directory (https://hps.org/membersonly/directory.cfm) or at the AAHP Web site (http://www.hps1.org/aahp/). You may also contact me (Earl.fordham@gmail.com).