American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-241-1024

Email: klink17@tds.net

Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 702-295-3489

Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

## Call for AAHP Nominations

Kathryn H. Pryor, CHP, Chair, Nominating Committee

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Nominating Committee is looking for candidates to run for Academy office on the 2010 ballot. Successful candidates will take office at the 2010 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting, 24-27 January, in Albuquerque, New Mexico. We need nominees for the offices of president-elect, treasurer, and director. Nominees must be:

- Current Plenary members of the Academy (either active or emeritus).
- Not serving an appointment to either the Part I or Part II Exam Panels or as a member of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) at the time that they take office.

The president-elect serves one year, followed by a year as president, and the third year as past president. The president-elect is responsible for filling positions on the Academy committees, attending the meetings of the ABHP, and as president presiding over the meetings of the Academy. The Executive Committee meets twice per

year at the HPS annual and midyear meetings. The treasurer serves a term of two years, followed by one year as past treasurer. The secretary is responsible for recording the minutes of the Academy Executive Committee and business meetings and running the election for officers. The directors serve terms of three years. The directors attend the meetings of the Academy Executive Committee and perform duties as requested by the president.

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee by phone or email to volunteer or to nominate someone else. The Nominating Committee members are Keith Anderson, Morgan Cox, Earl Fordham, John Hageman, Steve King, Kyle Kleinhans, Patricia Milligan, and Glenn Sturchio. Contact information for the committee members can be found in the HPS Membership Handbook, in the membership directory on the HPS Web site (http://www.hps.org), or at the AAHP Web site (http://www.hpsl.org/aahp/). You may also contact the chair directly at Kathy.pryor@pnl.gov.

## William A. McAdams Award

Patricia Milligan, CHP, ABHP Vice Chair

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award is given annually by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) to honor a certified health physicist who has made significant contributions to the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. This year's distinguished honoree is the late Michael S. Terpilak, CHP, in recognition of the substantial achievements accomplished while serving the ABHP in many different ways. Mike was very active in the Baltimore-Washington Chapter of the Health Physics Society (BWCHPS), serving as president in 1971. He started the first ABHP certification course in the chapter in 1966 to 1967. In 1968 he received one of the first two BWCHPS Distinguished Service Plaques for the effort. He was also very active

in the ABHP, serving as a member of the Comprehensive Examination Panel from 1969 to 1975 and as chair from 1974 to 1975. Mike and Anthony Greenhouse authored the brochure "Certified Health Physicist" in 1974. In 1975, when the National Registry of Radiation Protection Technologists (NRRPT) formally organized, Mike was one of two ABHP members selected to serve on the initial NRRPT Board of Directors. He also served as a member of the ABHP from 1976 to 1980, serving as secretary-treasurer from 1977 to 1978 and chairman from 1979 to 1980. After leaving the board, he was hired as the first (parttime) executive secretary for the ABHP, a role which he fulfilled until 1983. The full award citation will be printed in an upcoming issue of *Health Physics News*.

## **Professional Development Committee**

Jay Maisler, CHP, Chair

The Executive Committee approved "Guidance for Health Physicists Serving as Expert or Fact Witness," developed by the Professional Development Committee (PDC). This guidance is posted on the Academy's Web site and is intended to assist health physicists who may serve as expert or fact witnesses. This document provides guidance rather than mandatory practices and procedures. It is not intended to be comprehensive nor is it intended to cover all duties and responsibilities of a health physicist who may serve as an expert or fact witness. Comments for improving the guidance are always welcome and should be provided to the PDC chair.

The PDC continues work with the American Academy of Physicists in Medicine participating on a task group addressing training and experience to be a radiation safety officer (RSO) for a qualified medical physicist, qualifications for other individuals (such as physicians) to be an RSO, and development of specific guidance to assist management in submitting an individual's RSO qualifications to a regulatory authority. Kevin Buckley serves as the PDC representative on the task group. Draft guidance is expected to be issued later this year.

The PDC has drafted a brochure explaining why an individual should consider becoming a certified health physicist. The brochure has been submitted to the Executive Committee for consideration. In addition, the PDC has recommended changes to the Academy's Standard Operating Procedure 2.6.1 on developing standards of qualification/practice. These recommendations have been provided to the Executive Committee for consideration.

The PDC is also working on updating and improving the Academy's booth. Familiar to many health physicists, the booth has aged gracefully and the PDC is working on rejuvenating and invigorating our premier display used at the annual and midyear Health Physics Society (HPS) meetings. The PDC hopes to implement improvements in time for the 2010 HPS Annual Meeting in Salt Lake City.

Jay Maisler is the current chair of the PDC. Current members include Kevin Buckley, Ed Christman, Tom Johnson, Jeff Volmer, Cindy Bloom, and Mike Davidson. For further information, please contact Jay Maisler (jmaisler@enercon.com).

