

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-576-4170

Email: kk2@bechteljacobs.org

Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP

Work: 314-770-3059

Email: harold.w.anagnostopoulos@saic.com

Call for AAHP Nominations

Carl J. Paperiello, Chair, Nominating Committee

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP)
Nominating Committee is seeking your help in the work of the AAHP. The AAHP and the committee need you or someone you know or can suggest to serve as AAHP officers in 2009.

The AAHP is seeking nominees for president-elect, secretary, and director. Nominees must be current Plenary Members of AAHP (active or emeritus). The elected candidates will take office at the January 2008 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting in Oakland. The president-elect serves one year and advances to the office of president for one year. The treasurer serves a term of two years and then a term of one year as past treasurer. A director serves a term of three years.

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee (Keith Anderson, Stephen Brown, Daniel Burnfield, Stephen King, Kyle Kleinhans, Kathryn Pryor, L. Max Scott, or Jim Tarpinian) by phone or email to volunteer yourself or to nominate someone else. Contact information for the committee can be found in the HPS *Membership Handbook & Directory* or on the AAHP Web site (http://www.hps1.org/aahp/). You may also contact Nominating Committee Chairman Carl J. Paperiello (drcjp1@aol.com).

William A. McAdams Award

Jim Tarpinian, ABHP Vice Chair

The William A. McAdams
Outstanding Service Award is
given annually by the American
Board of Health Physics (ABHP)



and the AAHP to honor a certified health physicist who has made significant contributions to the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. This year's distinguished awardee is Kathryn H. Pryor, CHP, in recognition of her energetic dedication to the practice of health physics and her prolific professional accomplishments.

Kathy's service to the certification process extends over 17 years and includes the Part II Examination Panel as panel member, vice chair, and chair and the ABHP as board member, parliamentarian, secretary, vice chair, and chair. Her service on the AAHP includes terms as director, secretary, Continuing Education Committee member, and Nominating Committee member.

Kathy is currently serving as the secretary-elect of the HPS and previously served a term on its Board of Directors. Kathy is also a member of the Columbia Chapter of the HPS. The full award citation will be printed in an upcoming issue of *Health Physics News*.

Professional Development Committee

Jay Maisler, Chair

The Professional Development Committee of the AAHP promotes certification and recertification by the ABHP. The committee work includes expanding and enhancing the professional standards for ABHP certification and recertification and encouraging and assisting diplomats in improving their knowledge and understanding of health physics principles and practices.

In addition, the committee publicizes the benefits of ABHP certification to health physicists and fosters recognition and acceptance of the importance of ABHP certification by other allied professionals,

employers of health physicists, and the general public. The committee members also host the ABHP booth at the midyear and annual HPS meetings.

The committee continues efforts to finalize a Standards of Qualifications/Practice (SQ/P) for Healthcare Radiation Safety Officers (RSO) that employers can use to set minimum qualifications for RSO applicants. This SQ/P will take coordination with sister organizations, such as the American Academy of Physicists in Medicine and the Society of Nuclear Medicine. One of the purposes of the SQ/P is use as a tool to evaluate potential

candidates for open RSO positions. The committee has also drafted a guidance document that health physicists could use if they are called as an "Expert Witness" during legal proceedings.

Jay Maisler is the current chair of the Professional Development Committee. Current members include Kevin Buckley, Ed Christman, Tom Johnson, Jeff Kotsch, and Cindy Bloom.

If you are interested in becoming involved with this committee through active participation or in support of a particular project, please contact Chair Jay Maisler (jmaisler@enercon.com).

CHP Examination Part II Panel

Gus Potter, Chair

t the time of this writing (June 2007), the CHP exam for 2007 is complete and has been forwarded to the Secretariat for preparation and distribution to the proctors. Preparation of the exam is an arduous task. The panel works very hard from November to May to develop and review questions, prepare the exam, and have several reviews of the exam before it is completed. Since the preparation process was described by last year's chair, Govind Rao, for inclusion in this space, this year it seemed appropriate to speak a bit about the grading.

Like the exam preparation process, the grading process is complex and has redundancies in place to ensure the quality of grading and that the individual candidates are treated fairly. When the exams are distributed, the names of the candidates are not associated with the exams; candidates are only identified by number. A three-person subcommit-

tee of the panel is assigned to each of the 14 questions. Their first task is to discuss the problem solution that was developed with the problem and ensure that no changes are required. They then receive the grading package which includes only the questions and responses that they will be grading. Each response is graded and provided back to the subcommittee chair who compiles the results for the question and ensures that the grades from each of the three graders are consistent. If there are discrepancies, the subcommittee will discuss whatever the issue may be and make changes if necessary.

When each subcommittee has returned the question grades to the chair, the chair first provides another review of the results for each individual on each question to ensure that all discrepancies are resolved. The chair then compiles

the results for each individual and determines whether he or she passes or fails. A final report is prepared by the chair to illustrate the success of the exam including the performance of each question.

The panel this year consists of Vice Chair Pat LaFrate, Past Chair Govind Rao, Herman Cember, Sunita Kamboj, Tim Paul, Tosh Ushino, Camille Abboud, Jack Buddenbaum, Casper Sun, David Burkett, Christine Donahue, Wayne Gaul, Willie Harris, Krzysztof Szornel, Dave McLaughlin, Dan Menchaca, Ron Mlekodaj, Johnafred Thomas, David Tucker, Bob Burkhart, Jeff Chapman, Ken Krieger, Bob May, Andy Miller, Hans Oldewage, and Dennis Quinn. These individuals put in a lot of time and effort during this process which supports both the candidates and the existing CHPs.

I would like to express my thanks to all for participating.