

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-576-4170 Email: kk2@bechteljacobs.org Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 314-770-3059 Email: harold.w.anagnostopoulos@saic.com

Call for AAHP Nomination

Carl J. Paperiello, Chair, Nominating Committee

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Nominating Committee is seeking your help in the work of the Academy. The Academy and the committee need you or someone you know or can suggest to serve as an AAHP officer in 2008.

The Academy is seeking nominees for president-elect, secretary, and director. Nominees must be current Plenary Members of AAHP (active or emeritus). The elected candidates will take office at the 2008 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting. The president-elect serves one year and advances to the office of president for one year, then serves one year as past president. The secretary serves a term of two years and then a term of one year as past secretary. A director serves a term of three years.

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee (Stephen Brown, Daniel Burnfield, William P. Fitzgerald, Jeffrey M. Hoffman, Kyle Kleinhans, Kathryn Pryor, L. Max Scott, or Shawn Googins) by phone or email to volunteer yourself or to nominate someone else. Contact information for the committee can be found in the HPS Membership Handbook or on the AAHP Web site. You may also contact the chairman directly at drcjp1@aol.com.

The Nominating Committee also wishes to thank the members who came off the committee this year: past chairman Jerry B. Hunt, David S. Meyers, and Charles E. Roessler.

2006 William A. McAdams Award

Shawn Googins, ABHP Vice Chair

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award is given annually by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and the AAHP to honor a certified health physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. This year's distinguished awardee is William C. Reinig, CHP.

Bill Reinig is considered to be one of the founding members and early contributors to the ABHP Board and the CHP certification process. Bill was an active participant in the original Examination Panel for the ABHP, served as the panel chair, and served on the board of directors of the ABHP. His service to the board and panel extends over 10+ years. Bill also served as president-elect and president of the Health Physics Society (HPS) in 1979-1980. Now retired, Bill remains active in the field of radiological protection and serves as a Director of Citizens for Nuclear Technology Awareness.

The full award citation will be printed in an upcoming issue of *Health Physics News*.

Professional Standards and Ethics Committee

Charlie Meinhold, Chair, Professional Standards and Ethics Committee

Perhaps the most important item to acknowledge for the past year is that it is apparent that all our colleagues have been conducting themselves in a professional and ethical manner. The most unsettling issue is the difficulty in obtaining nominations for the Joyce P. Davis Award. With great assistance from

Nancy Johnson and the committee members we were very fortunate to have two highly qualified nominations.

Fortunately Carol D. Berger, the selected award recipient, meets all the requirements, that is, "exhibits consistently high ethical behavior in all scientific and professional interactions as exemplified by treating colleagues with mutual respect, trust, and dignity." Since Carol was unable to attend the Health Physics Society (HPS) meeting in Providence, the award will be presented at a meeting of the Baltimore-Washington Chapter of the HPS.

"CHP Corner" Article on ABHP Meeting

Jim Willison, ABHP Chair

he American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) held its summer meeting 23-24 June 2006 in Providence, Rhode Island, New board members starting their terms in 2006 are Nora Nicholson and Cheryl Olson. The board discussed the exam preparation process for the 2006 examinations. One of the major issues confronting the board is the continuing effort to obtain recognition of ABHP certifications by the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission for meeting the training and experience requirements for a radiation safety officer on 10 CFR 35 Medical Licenses. We expect some progress soon, if not by the time this is published.

At the meeting, the board elected officers for the 2007 calendar year. The new officers are:

Chair – Shawn Googins Vice Chair – Jim Tarpinian Secretary – Jack Higginbotham Parliamentarian – Cheryl Olson

Also selected at the meeting were the panel officers for the two Panels of Examiners. The Part I Panel chair for 2007 is Rob Forrest, with Anthony Huffert as vice chair. The Part II Panel chair for 2007 is Gus Potter, with Pat LaFrate as vice chair.

The board made some minor

modifications to the Useful Equations and Constants Sheet. This document is posted on the ABHP Web site and is handed out to candidates for use during the Part II Examination. Candidates are encouraged to download the new version of the document for information when it is available later in the summer.

During the meeting, a suggestion was made that the board encourage CHPs across the country to show solidarity and support for each year's examination candidates by wearing tropical shirts on exam day. In support of this suggestion, several members of the board wore their tropical shirts at the board meeting (see picture below). While this suggestion came too late to be communicated nationally before the 2006 exam, it was tried as a pilot program at the national meeting exam site in Providence. Please show your support for the candidates by wearing a tropical shirt on the next exam day—9 July 2007!



Front row left to right, Vice Chair Shawn Googins, Secretary Jim Tarpinian, Chair Jim Willison; back row, Board Member Cheryl Olson, Program Director Nancy Johnson