

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-576-4170 Email: kk2@bechteljacobs.org

## The TP-PR Committee

Tom Buhl, CHP, Committee Chair

The Title Protection and Professional Recognition (TP-PR) Committee is the newest of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) eight standing committees. The committee replaces the AAHP ad hoc committee that the Executive Committee formed in 2003. The proposal for the new standing committee was approved by the Executive Committee at its July 2005 meeting. It was incorporated into the AAHP bylaws by the AAHP membership during a special election in 2006.

The committee represents the AAHP in a joint program with the Health Physics Society (HPS) to obtain title protection from federal, state, and/or local governments for CHPs, health physicists, and registered radiation protection technologists (RRPTs) and recognition for the profession of health physics. The committee has the lead for the CHP portion of the program.

## History

The HPS, American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA), and AAHP began having meetings in the spring of 2003 to discuss jointly pursuing title protection and professional recognition legislation. The AIHA has had a TP-PR program for a number of years. The HPS, AIHA, and AAHP would join forces to amend legislation (already existing in several states and providing TP-PR for industrial hygienists) to include CHPs, HPs, and RRPTs and to pursue new legislation in other states to provide that same protection.

This arrangement was formalized in December 2004 with the signing of the "Tripartite Agreement" by the HPS, AIHA, and AAHP. Under this agreement the AIHA Government Affairs Office would provide state government affairs services to the HPS and AAHP and would include TP-PR text prepared by the HPS and AAHP in proposed state legislation. The Tripartite Agreement had its first success in February 2005 when Georgia officially enacted a law giving health physics title protection and professional recognition.

What the committee does The committee primarily deals with the TP-PR program as it relates to CHPs and with the AAHP's responsibilities under the Tripartite Agreement. It supports similar efforts for HPs and RRPTs for which the HPS has the lead. Many of the committee's activities are evolving as it learns more about legislative processes and how to most effectively promote our programs. The standing committee continues the excellent work performed by its predecessor ad hoc committee. The work includes: 1. Maintaining and further developing, as needed, the draft model legislation for title protection and professional recognition that is given to supporting members of

Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 314-770-3059 Email: harold.w.anagnostopoulos@saic.com

state legislatures for use in amended and new legislation.

**2.** Maintaining and amending where necessary the Tripartite Agreement with the HPS and AIHA.

**3.** Arranging for local CHPs to testify on behalf of proposed legislation.

**4.** Developing an AAHP position statement on TP-PR.

 Getting endorsements of the TP-PR program by outside organizations.
Developing a legislative reference package for use by local CHPs in their testimony, including the documents in 1, 4, and 5.
Coordinating our program with the HPS and the AIHA Government Affairs Director who has the lead in identifying the states to be approached and contacting their legislators.

## **Committee members**

The initial committee members are Kenny Fleming, Judson Kenoyer, Scott Kirk, Ed Maher, Jay Maisler, and Tom Buhl. Maher left the committee in January 2006 when he became president-elect of the Academy.

Much of the initial work of the TP-PR program was done by the ad hoc committee that was formed in 2003. Members included Frazier Bronson, Howard Dickson (committee chair), Kenny Fleming, Regis Greenwood, Judson Kenoyer, Ed Maher, and Tom Essig.

The AAHP greatly appreciates all the effort these individuals have provided in supporting the TP-PR program.

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org