

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-576-4170 Fax: 865-574-5037

Email: kk2@bechteljacobs.org

Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 314-770-3059 Fax: 314-770-3067

Associate Editor

Email: harold.w.anagnostopoulos@saic.com

## Nominating Committee

Carl J. Paperiello, Chair

arl J. Paperiello has agreed to chair the Nominating Committee of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) for 2006. Paperiello is currently at the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (cjp1@nrc.gov) but will retire on 30 April 2006. His alternative email is drcjp1@aol.com. The Nominating Committee consists of nine plenary members of the Academy, one of whom is the vice chair of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP). No current member of the Executive Committee can be a member of the Nominating Committee. The committee selects two nominees for each elective office, determines eligibility and willingness, and submits the names to the Executive Committee for ballot by the Academy membership. The committee also selects candidates for each ABHP vacancy in consultation with the ABHP. Additional responsibilities include soliciting and recommending nominees for the Joyce P. Davis and the William McAdams Awards.

Other members of the Nominating Committee include Stephen Brown, Daniel Burnfield, William P. Fitzgerald, Shawn Googins (Ex Officio), Jeffrey M. Hoffman, Kyle Kleinhans, Kathryn Pryor, and Max L. Scott.

## Call for Nominations Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award

The AAHP has established the Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award in recognition of her dedication to the advancement of health physics and her humanitarian efforts to uphold the ethics of the profession. The recipient of this award should demonstrate excellence in professional achievement as well as being admired for ethical behavior and interpersonal skills.

The eligibility requirements are AAHP membership

for at least 10 years, championship of professional standards and ethics, and exemplary professional service to the AAHP or the ABHP.

Nominations for the award can be made by any member of the Academy. Nominations should include a brief biographical résumé of the nominee's career and service to the profession and AAHP, a nomination letter, and at least three reference letters in support of the nomination and should be submitted to the Nominating Committee (Chair Carl Paperiello) on or before 1 May 2006.

The Selection Committee for this distinguished award is comprised of the AAHP's professional Standards and Ethics Committee (Chair Charles B. Meinhold), the past president of the AAHP, and the past chairman of the ABHP. The award will be presented at the AAHP luncheon during the annual Health Physics Society meeting in Providence, Rhode Island.

## ABHP Examination No. 1 - June 1960

Another 10-point question from the first ABHP exam is listed below. Candidates were required to answer 15 out of 20 10-point questions, plus a 50-point essay in an exam time limit of three hours.

- 2. a) State and discuss the Bragg-Gray principle. Include a mathematical formulation and a statement of qualifying conditions.
- b) When P<sup>32</sup> is administered as a soluble phosphate, the biological half-life for soft tissue is about 40 days. Calculate the effective half-life. Assuming that 10 mc of soluble phosphate P<sup>32</sup> is administered to a 70 kilogram man and that this is uniformly distributed throughout the body tissues, what is the integral dose for 1 effective half-life? (P<sup>32</sup> data:  $T_{y_2} = 14.4$  days,  $E_{max} = 1.70$  MeV,  $E_{av} = MeV$ ) (1 MeV =  $1.6 \times 10^{-6}$  ergs)