

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Associate Editor

 Kyle Kleinhans, CHP
 Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP

 Work: 865-576-4170
 Work: 314-770-3059

 Fax: 865-574-5037
 Fax: 314-770-3067

Email: kk2@bechteljacobs.org

Email: harold.w.anagnostopoulos@saic.com

#### 2005 ABHP Certification Exam Results

### **Congratulations!**

The results of the 2005 ABHP Certification Exam are as follows: 74 out of 133 candidates passed Part I and 15 out of 75 candidates passed Part II.

The following individuals have successfully completed the ABHP Certification Exam and are eligible for certification:

Bhuiyan, Md. Nasir U.Hugron, RogerPugh, David L.Boyce, Dale E.Kawabata, KenStiver, John H.Bradley, Scott E.Lagarde, Charlie S.Turner, Larry D.Caracappa, Peter F.Marianno, CraigZoller, Scott G.

Farmer, Steven Medich, Tara M. Graham, Christopher C. Morgan, Thomas L.

The following individuals successfully completed one part of the 2005 ABHP Certification Examination:

Abdelslam, Ebrahem M. Hamilton, Daniel S. Nelsen, Lindsay A. Hammersmith, Michael M. Nicosia, William C. Al-Anazi, Ibrahim K. Hansen, Randy C. Niven, Erin S. Alderson, Stacey L. Blute, Nicole Harris, Jason T. Nusenow, Craig D. Braley, Gerald S. Helm, Kenneth S. Oldfield, Brian Bravenec, Joseph S. Hooper, Charles A. Ong, Augustinus Browder, Rachel S. Hulke, Mark W. Osborn, Harold A. Buckner, Richard B. Jacobsen, Joseph D. Owen, Jr., Austin A. Bullock, Christine A. Jokisch, Derek W. Patton, Phillip W. Cezeaux, Jason R. Kolbe, William P. Philipson, Danielle N. Chandrikamohan, Pramoth Langford, John Philipson, Jake A. Cicotte, George R. Lee, Thomas G. Randall, Dale B. Cieszkiewicz, Eric Leppert, James D. Reeder, Ricky J. Ridgley, Darin L. Compton, Keith L. Lewis, James A. Cummings, Frederick Lodwick, Jeffrey C. Rolph, James T. Dampf, Michael H. Mahoney, Alan Schmitt, Wayne A. Doshi, Anshu P. Malsbury, David B. Smith, Joe W. Dunkelberger, Russel O. Medich, David C. Smith, Lynn M. Flynn, Charles R. Stewart, Donald Neil Menge, James P. Garino, Gerald Miller, Robert E. Warren, Ronald W. Glander, Lori A. Miller, Roy H. Wiley, Jr., Albert Lee Graber, Brandon L. Miller, William F. Yoder, Kay M.

Murray, Bruce L.

**NOTE OF THANKS:** The ABHP appreciates the help of the many CHPs who have donated many hours of their time to develop and grade the exams and to serve as proctors. Without their help, the examinations could not have taken place.

Haan, Thomas P.

## McAdams Award Reminder

Mominations for the William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award are due by <u>3 March 2006</u>. This award is presented annually by the American Board of Health Physics and the American Academy of Health Physics to honor a certified health physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. Any member of the American Academy of Health Physics may submit a nomination.

More information and the nomination form can be found at www.hps1.org/aahp/McAdams Nomination, pdf.

# **Application Reminder**

Complete applications to take either part of the 2006 ABHP examination must be filed with the Executive Secretary, postmarked no later than <u>15 January 2006</u>.

More information can be found at www.hps1.org/aahp/abhp/prospect.htm#.

### **Exam Site Committee Activities**

Donald Brady, Chair

For those of us who took the CHP exams remotely from the annual meeting, the question of who sets up, coordinates, and administers these remote sites may never occur to us. Over the last three years I have had the privilege of witnessing this process as a member of the exam site committee. Over these years, I found that through the hard work of numerous volunteers, this process occurs very efficiently and cost effectively. CHPs around the country take time away from work and family to proctor these exam sites. I have been overwhelmed by their generosity when they were asked by me or other committee members to set up a remote exam location. In some cases CHPs have even "passed the hat" to pay for the location. We have been able to support 11 remote exam locations on a yearly basis.

These locations provide access to candidates in all regions of the United States.

What does it take to proctor an exam site? Exam sites must have two proctors at all times during the test, the lead proctor must receive and send the examination materials, and an accessible location must be available. Exam site committee members contact CHPs in an area in which an exam site is desired or has been requested. In some cases, CHPs have performed this service for many years with no recognition. I would like to thank all exam site committee members and Nancy Johnson of the Secretariat for their hard work in coordinating these exam sites. But most of all, thanks to this year's exam site volunteers listed below who make the exam sites happen.

- Burlington/Boston: Mark Walsh, David Drum
- Chicago, Illinois: Steve Butala, Bill Munyon, Bruce Murdoch, Paul Neeson, Mike VanDerKarr
- Cleveland/Columbus, Ohio: Leonard Davis, Bill Thomas
- Dallas/Ft. Worth, Texas: John Lowe, Bob Evans
- Gaithersburg, Maryland: Jim Tracy, Tom O'Brien, Tim Mengers
- Golden, Colorado: Mike McDonald, Ted Borst
- Idaho Falls, Idaho: Bob Boston, Paul Ruhter
- Los Alamos, New Mexico: Michael W. Mallett, David L. Wannigman
- Oak Ridge, Tennessee: Mark McHugh, Art Palmer
- San Francisco, California: Tony Sorensen, Greg Jones
- Schenectady, New York: Anthony DeAngelo, Frank Augustine, Douglas Marx, Dennis Taylor
- Spokane, Washington: Jim Tarpinian, Steve Bump, Sharon Dossett, Sandy Kienholz, Kathy Pryor, Mary Birch, Jim Willison