

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-576-4170 Fax: 865-241-3548

Email: kk2@bechteljacobs.org

Associate Editor

Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 314-770-3059 Fax: 314-770-3067

Associate Editor Rodney Simonsen, CHP Work: 702-295-4442 Fax: 702-295-3514

## 2004 AAHP/ABHP Awards

The following presentations and certificates were awarded at the 2004 American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) luncheon on Tuesday, 13 July 2004.

The 2004 William McAdams Outstanding Service Award was presented to Edward F. Maher. This award is

presented annually to individuals who have made longterm and significant contributions to the certification process and have



Ed Maher (left) receiving his award from John Serabian, Jr.

elevated professionalism in health physics.

The 2004 Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award was presented to James E. Tarpinian. This award is presented in recognition of exemplary service as a role model in upholding the ethical and professional standards of the Academy.

TheAAHP presented Edgar Bailey with a plaque in appreciation for his service as chair of the American Board of Health Physics in 2003.

The AAHP presented Howard Dickson with a Past President



Jim Tarpinian (right) receiving his award from Dale Denham.

Award in appreciation for his devoted service and leadership as 2003 president.

The officers and members of the AAHP presented the following certificates as tokens of their esteem and gratitude:

- James E. Tarpinian: President-elect 2001, President 2002, and Past President 2003
- Thomas Essig: Treasurer 2001 and 2002, Director 2003
- Scott Medling: Director 2001 through 2003
- Thomas LaVake: Chair, Appeals Committee
- Thomas Johnson: Member, Continuing Education Committee
- John Rich: Member, Continuing Education Committee
- Larry Hoffman: Chair, Exam Site Selection Committee

- Robert Feinberg: Member, Nominating Committee
- Steven Gebers: Member, Nominating Committee
- Larry McKay: Member, Nominating Committee
- Armin Ansari: Chair, Professional Development Committee
- Jeffrey Chapman: Member, Professional Development Committee
- Paul Ziemer: Member, Professional Standards and **Ethics Committee**
- Steven Rima: Editor, CHP News and "CHP Corner"

The officers and members of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) conferred the following certificates as a token of their esteem and gratitude for devoted service to:

- Patricia Milligan: Part I Panel Chair
- Beth Hilt: Part I Panel Member
- Daniel Mantooth: Part II Panel Chair

- Michael Brooks: Part II Panel Member
- Jack Patterson: Part II Panel Member
- Steven Rademacher: Part II Panel Member
- Scott Schwahn: Part II Panel Member