

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

STEVE RIMA CHP CSP - Editor

Work: 970-243-2861 Fax: 970-256-7356

Email: sdrima@mactec.com

KYLE KLEINHANS CHP - Associate Editor

Work: 865-241-8380 Fax: 865-241-8381

Email: kkleinhans.hp85@gtalumni.org

Letter to the Editor

I'd like to make a few comments on the article "Announcement on Future Direction of the Part II Examination," which was in the February 2003 *Health Physics News*.

- 1. I applaud the decision to discontinue "reengineering" the Part II exam. I doubt that a candidate can be judged adequately on the basis of multiplechoice questions.
- 2. I am sorry to see that the Part II questions will no longer be released.

There are two reasons for this:

(a) they are the single-most valuable tool for exam preparation and (b) this has the potential to impact the integrity of the process. Let me explain.

The Part I exam includes, I believe, 100 questions (it's been a while). With the time pressures of this exam (< 2 minutes/question), it would be difficult for anyone to memorize a significant number of questions. Thus, short of stealing exam questions, questions can be reused without affecting the validity of the exam.

The Part II exam, however, has fewer questions and more time to answer them. It would thus be easy for an individual to memorize a significant part of the exam, and for an organized group to recreate the entire exam. Thus, some individuals (for example, those who pay big \$\$ to attend the right preparatory course) would have the benefit of previous questions, which would give them an unfair advantage.

William V. Lipton, CHP Ann Arbor, Michigan

New AAHP Committee Members and Chairs Announced at the 47th Annual American Radiation Safety Conference and Exposition in Tampa, Florida

- Thomas LaVake ('03) as Chair of the Appeals Committee.
- Cindy Bloom ('05) as a member of the Appeals Committee.
- Jeffrey Kotsch ('03) as Chair of the Continuing Education Committee.
- Shih-Yew Chen ('05) as a member of the Continuing Education Committee.
- Larry Hoffman ('03) as Chair of the Exam Site Committee.
- Donald Brady and Lisa Stetar ('05) as members of the Exam Site Committee.
- Johnafred Thomas ('04) as Chair of the Nominating Committee.
- Jerry Hunt, Dave Myers, and Carl Paperiello ('05) as members of the Nominating Committee.
- Armin Ansari ('03) as Chair of the Professional Development Committee.
- Tom Youngblood and Toshihide Ushino ('05) as members of the Professional Development Committee.
- Carol Berger ('03) as Chair of the Professional Standards & Ethics Committee.
- Steve Frey ('05) as a member of the Professional Standards & Ethics Committee.

