American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

STEVE RIMA CHP CSP - Editor KYLE KLEINHANS CHP - Associate Editor

Work: 970-243-2861 Work: 865-241-8380 Fax: 970-256-7356 Fax: 865-241-8381

Email: sdrima@mactec.com Email: kkleinhans.hp85@gtalumni.org

## Announcement on Future Direction of the Part II Examination

At the fall meeting of the American Board of Health Physics, the Board reviewed the status of the formal effort to reengineer the Part II examination. Upon review and extensive discussion, the Board voted to discontinue the reengineering effort in its present form. This decision was not made lightly. The original decision to commit resources to the development of a reengineered exam was not unanimous, nor was the decision to suspend the current effort.

The Board determined that a clear set of goals and objectives for the reformatted examination had not been sufficiently developed.

Without a clear understanding of the desired endpoint, the Board could not develop a coherent plan to transition to a new examination.

Rather than continue down the current path of developing questions without a defined endpoint, the Board decided to discontinue the present effort and to put our energy into defining a coherent plan for the future of the Part II exam.

The present effort to reengineer the Part II examination resulted in a number of positive outcomes. These include development of the Job Task Analysis survey, revalidation of the Domains of Practice, and development of new Part II questions in a serial multiple-choice format.

The Domains of Practice consist of five major areas of health physics and describe the types of tasks that are performed by CHPs. Board procedures require that these Domains of Practice are revalidated every five years. The current Domains of Practice were revalidated using a new Job Task Analysis survey instrument. A workshop to develop the Job Task Analysis survey was held at the 1999 Health Physics Society Midyear Meeting in Albuquerque. The survey included eight major categories and 173 tasks and was pilot-tested on a small group of CHPs. This activity was followed up by a survey of all active CHPs, with a 40% response rate. The use of this new method yielded results that were consistent with the existing Domains of Practice and provided a more-detailed set of tasks to support the major categories of Domains of Practice.

Some of the questions that have been developed by the Ad Hoc Panel for the reengineered examination question bank will be able to be used on the Part II examination in its current format. The Part II examination can include serial multiple-choice questions and has used this format on a number of past examinations. Other questions

that were developed have been passed to the Part I Panel Chair for consideration as potential Part I exam questions.

The original intent of the reengineering effort centered on finding a more efficient way to produce and grade the Part II examination. The current method of production requires a large number of volunteers to prepare new questions and to evaluate them using the Panel's Quality Control procedures. In addition, concern had been expressed that the current method of production could result in varying levels of difficulty from year to year.

These concerns have been partially addressed since the reengineering effort began. Effective in 2003, the Part II examination questions will no longer be published or released. This change allows Part II questions to be reused (with minor modifications), thereby reducing the workload of producing new questions each year. Increased emphasis has also been placed on maintaining consistency in the length and difficulty of the Part II examination from year to year.

The Board continually strives to improve the quality of both Part I and Part II of the certification examination. The Board is in the

process of developing a plan for the future of the Part II examination, specifically laying out goals and objectives for the exam. The Board has also undertaken an effort to identify opportunities to streamline the Part II examination development and grading processes.

The Board wishes to extend its

sincere thanks to Ad Hoc Panel Chair George Vargo and the members of the Ad Hoc Panel for their service. The Chair and members of the Ad Hoc Panel have committed a tremendous amount of time and energy to the reengineering effort, and the Board deeply appreciates their contributions. If you have any comments or suggestions regarding the future direction of the Part II examination, please feel free to share them with the Board.

— Kathryn H. Pryor, 2002 Chair American Board of Health Physics

## CALL FOR NOMINATIONS Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) recently established the Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award in recognition of her dedication to the advancement of health physics and her humanitarian efforts to uphold the ethics of the profession. The recipient of this award should demonstrate excellence in professional achievement as well as being admired for ethical behavior and interpersonal skills.

The eligibility requirements are (1) a member of AAHP for at least 10 years, (2) a champion of professional standards and ethics, and (3) has provided exemplary professional service to the AAHP or the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP). Nominations for the award can be made by any member of the Academy. Nominations should include a brief biographical résumé of the nominee's career and service to

the profession and AAHP, a nomination letter, and at least three reference letters in support of the nomination and should be submitted to any member of the Nominating Committee on or before 1 April. The members of the Nominating Committee include Chair Johnafred Thomas, Bob Feinberg, Steve Gebers, Jerry Hunt, Joel Lubenau, Larry McKay, Dave Myers, Carl Paperiello, and John Serabian.

## William B. McAdams Award

The William B. McAdams Award is presented each year by the American Board of Health Physics to recognize an individual who has made important contributions to advancing the profession of health physics and

the health physics certification process.

Nominations for the McAdams Award can be made by any member of the Academy. Nominations should include a brief biographical résumé and be submitted to the Selection Committee no later than 1 April.

The Selection Committee includes AAHP Past President Jim Tarpinian, ABHP Chair Ed Bailey, and ABHP Vice Chair John Serabian.