

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

STEVE RIMA CHP CSP - Editor

 Work:
 970-243-2861

 Fax:
 970-256-7356

 Email:
 sdrima@mactec.com

KYLE KLEINHANS CHP – Associate Editor Work: 865-241-8380 Fax: 865-241-8381

Email: kkleinhans.hp85@gtalumni.org

# AAHP/ABHP Election Results and Honors from the 46<sup>th</sup> Annual Health Physics Society Meeting in Cleveland, Ohio

## **ABHP Board Members**

- James S. Willison, CHP, as a new American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) Board Member. Willison's term runs through 2006.
- Shawn W. Googins, CHP, as the replacement for Rich Vetter. Googins will complete Vetter's term, which runs through 2003.

## **AAHP Election Results**

- Howard W. Dickson, CHP, as the President-elect-Designate, 2004
- Kathleen L. Shingleton, CHP, as the Secretary-elect, 2003
- Lester K. Aldrich II, CHP, as Director, 2004

## William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award Recipient

George J. Vargo, Jr, was presented with the William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award for 2001 by the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP).

## **AAHP Awards and Certificates**

Edward F. Maher was presented with an award for his service to the Academy as Chair of the ABHP in 2000.

Charles E. Roessler was presented with an award for his service to the Academy as President for the year 2000.

During the AAHP Awards Luncheon, Certificates of Appreciation from the AAHP were presented to the following members:

• Herman Cember for his service to the Academy as President-elect in 1998, President in 1999, and Past President in 2000.

- George E. Chabot for his service to the Academy as Secretary in 1998 and 1999 and as Director in 2000.
- Michael J. Slobodien for his service to the Academy as Director from 1998 to 2000.
- Jay A. MacLellan for his service to the Academy as Chair of the Appeals Committee.
- Rowena S. Argall and Sydney W. Porter for their service to the Academy as members of the Continuing Education Committee.
- Don D. Honey for his service to the Academy as Chair of the Exam Site Selection Committee.
- Ruth E. McBurney, Patricia Milligan, and Howard M. Pritchard for their service to the Academy as members of the Nominating Committee.
- Morgan F. Cox and Jerry A. Thomas for their service to the Academy as members of the Professional Development Committee.
- Charles B. Meinhold and Harry J. Newman for their service to the Academy as members of the Professional Standards and Ethics Committee.

During the AAHP Awards Luncheon, Certificates of Appreciation from the ABHP were presented to the following members:

- Eugene M. Rollins for his service to the Board as Board Member from 1996 to 2000.
- Ellen Hochheiser for her service to the Board as the Chair of the Part I Panel of Examiners for 2000.
- Edward F. Branagan for his service to the Board as a member of the Part I Panel of Examiners.
- Brian M. Methe for his service to the Board as the Chair of the Part II Panel of Examiners for 2000.
- Douglas G. Draper, Paul H. Jones, Xiaotian Mao, David A. McLaughlin, Ron L. Mlekodaj, Kathleen L. Shingleton, and Jonathan H. Wallace for their service to the Board as members of the Part II Panel of Examiners.

The current Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Panel of Examiners were also honored at the AAHP Awards Luncheon:

- Richard E. Toohey, Chair, Part I Panel of Examiners
- Kent N. Lambert, Vice Chair, Part I Panel of Examiners
- Robert W. Fairchild, Chair, Part I Panel of Examiners
- Sharon Dossett, Vice Chair, Part I Panel of Examiners

Congratulations to all of these CHP volunteers who give their time to support the AAHP and the ABHP!