

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

STEVE RIMA CHP CSP Work: 970-248-6787 Fax: 970-248-6725 Email: sdrima@mactec.com

# Announcement Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award

At the 6 February 2001 meeting of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP), the Executive Committee voted to establish a new award to be known as the Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award. The award is to be presented no more than annually to a worthy candidate at the AAHP awards luncheon in conjunction with the Health Physics Society annual meeting.

This new award is a role model-based award given in recognition of "upholding the ethical and professional standards of the Academy," in contrast to the William McAdams award, which is a service-based award "in recognition of significant contributions to the . . . Health Physics Certification Process." The other primary difference in the awards is that the Academy will present the Joyce P. Davis award, whereas the American Board of Health Physics presents the William McAdams award. The Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award will be given in her honor in recognition of efforts to uphold the ethics of the profession of health physics. The recipient of this award will have demonstrated the extraordinary qualities exemplified by Ms. Davis, distinguishing themselves for excellence in professional achievement as well as being admired for ethical behavior and interpersonal skills.

# **Eligibility requirements:**

- · AAHP membership for at least 10 years,
- · Championship of professional standards and ethics, and
- · Exemplary professional service to the American Board of Health Physics or the American Academy of Health Physics.

### **Requirements for nomination:**

- The AAHP Chair will issue a call for nominations to appear in the December CHP News.
- Nominations can be made by any member of the Academy and should:
  - ✓ Include a brief biographical résumé of the candidate's career and service to the Academy and profession,
  - ✓ Include a nomination letter and at least three reference letters in support of the nomination, and
  - ✓ Be submitted and received by the selection committee on or before 1 March of the year in which the award is to be presented.

### Selection criteria:

- Honorable service to the Academy through open and honest communication, accepting and honoring agreements, and keeping promises.
- Consistently high ethical behavior in all scientific and professional interactions as exemplified by treating colleagues with mutual respect, trust, and dignity.
- Excellence in professional achievement.
- Preference given to candidates having prior service on the Professional Standards & Ethics Committee.

# The Selection Committee is comprised of:

- The AAHP Past President,
- The Past Chairman of the ABHP, and
- The Chair of the Professional Standards & Ethics Committee